Ministry of Civil Aviation
azadi ka amrit mahotsav

27 additional domestic air cargo terminals are built by AAICLAS after 2014

Posted On: 07 FEB 2022 4:25PM by PIB Delhi

Till the year 2014, there were 11 Domestic Air Cargo Terminals and 19 International Air Cargo Terminals in India. Airports Authority of India (AAI) / AAI Cargo Logistics and Allied Services Company Limited  (AAICLAS) has created another 27 Domestic Air Cargo Terminals. In addition, there are Joint Venture (JV)/ Public Private Partnership (PPP) and State Government Airports which are also engaged in the process of establishment of Domestic as well as International Air Cargo Terminals. Thus, the Cargo handling potential has been considerably enhanced to facilitate faster movement of goods.

AAICLAS is committed towards creation of cargo handling facilities through establishment of domestic cargo terminals including in the Tier-II and Tier-III cities depending upon the feasibility for volume of cargo. As a result, additional 27 domestic air cargo terminals have been created by AAICLAS after 2014 at Amritsar, Madurai, Mangalore, Visakhapatnam, Chennai, Indore, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Raipur, Aurangabad, Bhubaneswar, Varanasi, Goa, Srinagar, Ranchi, Trivandrum, Guwahati, Vijayawada, Bagdogra, Jammu, Leh, Surat, Bhopal, Dehradun, Rajahmundry, Tirupati and Hubballi.

This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry Of Civil Aviation (Gen (Dr) V. K. Singh (Retd) in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha  today.



(Release ID: 1796158) Visitor Counter : 1120