Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Culture
08 FEB 2021 5:41PM by PIB Delhi
Measures taken by Government to preserving and promoting the traditional cultural heritage of India

Institutions of Ministry of Culture such as the Academies namely Sangeet NatakAkademi (SNA), Centre for Cultural Resources and Training (CCRT), Kalakshetra Foundation (KF), Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA), National School of Drama (NSD), Sahitya Akademi (SA) and Lalit Kala Akademi (LKA) are engaged in the work of preserving and promoting the traditional cultural heritage of India.

The Kalakshetra Foundation has established a repertory (a troupe of expert dancers and musicians), renovated the performance spaces theatres, open air auditoriums, the curriculum of the diploma and post diploma courses for the propagation and education of Fine Arts (Bharatanatyam, Carnatic Music and Visual Arts). In addition, the KF has initiated to identify, register and revive the traditional weaving and dyeing techniques of Cotton and Silk through its Craft Education and Research Centre.

The Ministry of Culture formulated a scheme titled “Scheme for Safeguarding the Intangible Heritage and Diverse Cultural Traditions of India” , with the objective of reinvigorating and revitalizing various institutions, groups, individuals, identified non-MOC institutions, non-Government organisations, researchers and scholars so that they may engage in activities/ projects for strengthening, protecting, preserving and promoting the rich Intangible Cultural Heritage of India. Assistance under the scheme is provided in the form of non-recurring grants, honoraria etc. with a view to address areas critical for the survival and propagation of all forms of ICH.

Moreover, India has successfully inscribed 13 ICH elements in the UNESCO Representative list of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity under the 2003 Convention.

  1. the first step towards the making of a National Inventory of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH), the Ministry of Culture (MoC) has put up a list in April,2020 on its website called “National list for Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH)”. This list is a work-in-progress and suggestions are received from stakeholders.

The National list of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) of India is an attempt to recognize the diversity of Indian Culture embedded in its Intangible Heritage. It aims to raise awareness about the various Intangible Cultural Heritage elements from different states of India at National and International level and ensure their protection.

Following UNESCO’s 2003 Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, this list has been classified into five broad domains in which Intangible Cultural Heritage is manifested:

  • Oral traditions and expressions, includinglanguage as a vehicle of the Intangible Cultural Heritage
  • Performing Arts
  • Social practices, Rituals and Festive events
  • Knowledge and practices concerning Nature and the Universe
  • Traditional Craftsmanship

            The Academies undertake the activities out of their regular grants. During the last three years also, regular grants were utilised for the purpose.

This information was given by the Minister of State (I/c) of Culture and Tourism, Shri Prahlad Singh Patel in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.