Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Railways
10 MAR 2021 4:35PM by PIB Delhi
High Speed Rail Corridors in Indian Railways

Railways has assigned the work for the preparation of Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the following seven new High Speed Rail (HSR) corridors to National High Speed Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL) :

(i) Delhi-Noida-Agra-Kanpur-Lucknow-Varanasi

(ii) Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad

(iii) Mumbai-Nasik-Nagpur

(iv) Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad

(v) Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore

(vi) Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar

(vii) Varanasi-Patna-Howrah

None of the above seven High Speed corridor is sanctioned as yet. The decision on sanctioning any HSR project depends on the outcome of Detailed Project Report, techno-economic feasibility, availability of resources and financing options. The preparation of DPRs is still in progress and alignment/route for the corridors has yet not been finalised.

This information was given by the Minister of Railways, Commerce & Industry and Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Shri Piyush Goyal in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.