Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Ministry of Minority Affairs
23 MAR 2023 5:26PM by PIB Delhi

At present, 18 States/UTs have set up statutory State Minority Commissions. These States/UTs are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and West Bengal.

The Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) is implemented through the State Governments/UT administrations. The Department in the State looking after minority welfare is the nodal department for implementation of PMJVK. The ranking of States/UTs on their performance under PMJVK has not been done. Further, the schemes implemented by this Ministry are not promoted by States or State Minority Commissions.

However, the Ministry of Minority Affairs promotes its schemes through various print advertisements in National and regional dailies through Bureau of Outreach and Communication (BOC, erstwhile DAVP). Publicity campaigns are also carried out by the Ministry under electronic media as well as Outdoor Publicity modes through BOC/NFDC (National Film Development Corporation)/ Doordarshan or empanelled agencies of these offices. In addition, Ministry also supports conducting workshops/seminars through Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs) to create awareness about schemes/programmes implemented by the Ministry.

This information was given by the Union Minister of Minority Affairs, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, in a written reply in Lok Sabha.